1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

A mammoth task for a total novice!

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by KevB, Feb 24, 2012.

1. KevB

KevB Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi folks,

I've just built myself a house and have come here looking for whatever helpful advice may be on offer. I'm totally new to any kind of gardening but am planning a rather large building site surrounding my house in to a lovely garden. I've decided to start with the smallish area at the back of my house. I hired a mini-excavator last weekend and this was the result:
    [​IMG]
    The idea is that I'm going to lay a further two rows of paving slabs outside the path to create a patio area running the entire length of the house. I also want to put up a small retaining wall along the edge of the patio with steps going up to a lawn which will be levelled off as much as easily achievable.

As you can see from the photo the soil is wet! It has been raining a lot lately but in Orkney that's no great surprise. What isn't so obvious from the photo is that there is a lot of clay in the soil and it is retaining all the water that is there.

I guess my first question would be for anyone who has laid a patio before. Do I need to put down a base of hardcore or can I just spread out a dry mix of sand and cement to lay the slabs on? How deep will I need to go still to lay the slabs?