A weed I presume, never seen this before

Discussion in 'Identification Area' started by Neil_St_Albans, Apr 20, 2015.

1. Neil_St_Albans

Neil_St_Albans Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I've been mowing my lawn for 30 years, more or less controlling dandelions and clover, but this is a new one one me this spring. A few weeks ago, the entire lawn and borders started sprouting these plants, I've probably been the victim of a airborne seed attack, there are far too many to treat individually. They sprout with two opposite plain leaves, getting to about 50mm high. Then the next two leaves to appear are a completely different shape. I've tried searching for various ways of saying 'different leaves', to no avail. 'Lawn weeds' as a search is also next to useless, it doesn't seem to be visible in the 'top 16'.

In this specimen, the first two plain leaves have already suffered a bit of pest attack. Q_weed.jpg

Any ideas? Is it relatively benign, or a triffid?

2. JazzSi

JazzSi Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,239
    It looks like a Sycamore seedling, just been pulling some out of my garden.

• Agree Agree x 8
    • Scrungee

Scrungee Well known for it

Ratings:
      +28,996
      It certainly is, maybe a neighbouring tree has just reached maturity, or perhaps an already mature one in a nearby garden managed to spread its seeds your way in and unseasonable gale?

• Dips

Dips Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +3,631
      Im currently battling my way through these its driving me insane. I can clear an area of them and then two days later there is more :wallbanging:

• Agree Agree x 2
      • miraflores

miraflores Total Gardener

Ratings:
        +2,389
        you can usually tell that it is a tree if it is very hard to pull the seedling out.

• wiseowl

wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

Philosophy of people
        Ratings:
        +89,284