1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Absolute beginner looking for advice

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by barryp, May 29, 2008.

1. barryp

barryp Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to gardening but i've recently become interested in getting involved, i'm mainly interested in begining to grow things i would be able to use in the kitchen as opposed to just growing for the sake of growing, my main problem is my location, i live in a ground floor apartment so the only space i have would be on my patio using pots, my parents house has a large garden which i can use but again i'd probably rather use containers than take over their garden just yet.

Basically i'm looking for a few pointers on what to grow and how, i would rather start off with something simple at this stage and i am aware that at this stage in the year i may have missed the boat with regards to getting started with certain things.

as i said earlier i'd like to grow things i would use regularly in the kitchen, by this i mean anything to go in my salad or pasta, so lettuce onion tomatoes, garlic, chilli, peppers, basil. these are the sort of thing i would use regularly.

i have never spent any time at all in the garden so i have no idea on when to start when to harvest, what pots to use, what conditions i need so any pointers or advice on where to start would be great.