1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Absolute beginner - preparing soil for lawn HELP!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by alistairjackman, Jun 27, 2009.

1. alistairjackman

alistairjackman Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

I'm very inexperienced with lawns and gardening in general and I could use some advice on a mini-lawn project I've set my heart on completing.

I have a patch of ground, about 2m square in my 'yard' that I am trying to convert to a lawn by sowing seed. The area in question is sunken down about 30cm, with concrete forming a rim on 3 sides, and the side of the property on the other.

The ground was covered with gravel and stones, which I have spend much of the day removing and sifting to try and get rid of the worst of it.

As I progress though, and dig into the ground, it seems to just be throwing up more and more small gravel, albeit it's looking a bit better now I've got rid of the large stones.

Am I wasting my time, or will I be able to use this ground as the base for a lawn? As the area is sunken, I was imagining I could buy some soil/compost to form a better soil on top of the gravel ridden underlayer, but as a complete novice I have no idea if I'm pursuing a pipe dream or if it's possible with what I have to work with.

Any advice for me would be very appreciated. I'm on a bit of a personal mission.. I must have my mini-lawn!

Thanks
    AJ

2. Flinty

Flinty Gardener