Advice on how to start a garden needed :)

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Piotr W, May 13, 2020.

1. Piotr W

Piotr W Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +14
    Hey Guys. I have decided to try and do something about our communal garden that has been neglected for decades. I have zero experience or knowledge and have no clue where to start. I have the passion though, so with your help hopefully I can make it work :) it's a tiny wee jungle of nettles and weeds at the moment, so I guess the first questions are :

- what equipment do I need to buy to start ?
    - how do I get rid of the weeds ?

I am in limited budget so I am gonna try to do it all as cheap as possible. I have some free time at the moment, because of the lockdown, so if theres a time for me to do something about it , it's definitely now. Thanks in advance for any help at all. Pictures attached
    20200513_163024.jpg 20200513_163008.jpg 20200513_163010.jpg

• Like Like x 3
    • Telmadee

Telmadee Gardener

Lab tech
      Ratings:
      +351
      Brave man :biggrin: I dare say that once you get that garden looking nice a lot more residents may show Interest in it too.

• Selleri

Selleri Koala

Ratings:
      +7,559
      Welcome @Piotr W ! :)

Wow, your garden looks very, very promising, proper stone walls instead of droopy panels, apparently fertile ground (seen how well the nettles are growing), some trees and great space. It has great atmosphere already.

First tools I'd suggest are
      • something to cut down the nettles so that you can see whats beneath, a scythe would be brill but an electric strimmer will be fine. Link to Argos strimmers
      • An extension lead and a circuit break if you go for a corded tool
      • Fork
      • Spade
      • Rake
      • Bucket
      • Hand trowel
      • Gloves
      • Watering can
      • Comfy chair
      Argos, Wilkos and Wickes for example sell perfectly good tools on reasonable prices. Garden centres tend to be expensive.