1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Are my tomato plants salvegable?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Reetgood, Jun 30, 2012.

1. Reetgood

Reetgood Gardener

Ratings:
    +111
    Hello, I'm quite new to gardening and could do with some help with my four very sad tomato plants.

I bought them from a stall run by a local allotment society. I don't know what variety but they are bush rather climbing types.

I have them in a window box, that moves outside when it's sunny and is inside when it's not, as I don't have a greenhouse and the cover blew off my cheap wilkos cold frame thing.

They were doing quite well until a couple of weeks ago. I first noticed aphids and little white flies on them and brushed them off. The aphids are all gone now. They may have got left outside in the rain and wind once or twice..

Now they are very droopy, the leaves on the lower branches have first curled then turned brown and wilted. I notice what look like blisters about three quarters up the main stem.

Here is a picture. Are they too far gone? Is all this inside/outside killing them?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1341094339.692469.jpg

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +46,164
    Don't worry about the lower leaves, they often die off. Just strip them off.
    I would just leave them outside from now onwards, beging inside will encourage legginess (thin tall growth).

3. Jenny namaste