Are Rowan trees suitable for growing in pots?

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Knows nothing, Oct 28, 2008.

1. Knows nothing

Knows nothing Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete novice when it comes to anything garden related, so please excuse the potentially stupid questions :)

I'd like to have a Rowan tree (nothing fancy, the bog standard Mountain Ash Sorbus aucuparia) at the front of our house, but there's nowhere really suitable to plant one (block paving driveway).

Would it be ok to grow one in a pot? Any chance of getting it to about 10 foot high? The area is sheltered on 3 sides, so wind shouldn't be a problem, so I'm guessing it just depends on how big a pot we can get hold of? (any clues as to how big a pot we'd need would be useful too :thumb:)

Is this a reasonable thing to attempt with a Rowan?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice.

2. Brind

Brind Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    I wouldn't!

Trees tend to have large tap roots, the tree in question is no exception. If you want that tree to be as healthy as possible and stable, it needs to be in the ground.

Lift up a few paving blocks and shove it in the ground. The blocks will come up easily, you've just got to hope the sub base is easy to dig as the blocks could have been put down on concrete.

3. walnut

walnut Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
    Disagree with Brind you can grow anything in a pot you in effect bonsai it,the size of pot will determine the size you can grow it to,I have seen healthy rowans growing out of cracks in rocks when I have been climbing with barely a handfull of soil to keep them growing,care needs to be taken that they don'y dry out in containers in the summer months.

4. Harmony Arb

Harmony Arb Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Knows nothing,