1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Assessment and help!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Keith Anderson, Apr 20, 2020.

1. Keith Anderson

Keith Anderson Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    I am a complete novice. I built my garden over the past couple of years including the installation of a fescue lawn. Last year I think I over fertilized, this year I was determined to get a better feed routine. I fed the lawn on 1st April with Scott's lawn builder. Now I have this horrible pattern across the lawn.
    IMG_20200420_201310.jpg

A few questions.

1) is this likely to be poor feed application by me?
    2) is it an underlying problem ( last year I had a dose of red thread)
    3) should I re-feed the poorly growing areas or wait another month and feed the whole lawn??
    4) I've topped the grass twice this month, a high cut and lightly scarified it prior to feeding it.
    5) I'm up in the east of Scotland so a few weeks behind those in the south.

All advice very welcome!!

2. noisette47

noisette47 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +14,311
    Hello, it does look as though the feed didn't get distributed very evenly It's tricky to do! I'd don rubber gloves and scatter some feed (thinly) on the less-than-green bits. They'll soon catch up.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Perki

Perki Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +8,493