Avocado - Brown leaves. Is it salt build up?

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by Ademission, May 12, 2021.

1. Ademission

Ademission Gardener

Electronics Engineer
    Ratings:
    +619
    Hello All,

I'm a newbie on GC so please advise me if I have posted in the wrong place.

I have an Avocado plant that has been growing well, but recently has developed brown leaves. I did a bit of research into possible reasons for this and it maybe a build up of salt. I have attached two pictures of the problem.

20210512_135824 2000.jpg
    Picture 1

20210512_135848 2000.jpg
    Picture 2

The plant is about 12" in height and is in a 10" pot. The suggested solution on the internet is to dribble water through the soil for 24hrs to wash away the salt. Has anyone done this with any success? Should I cut off the affected leaves? As can be seen in the pictures, the plant has been topped in an attempt to make it more bushy as previous Avocados have ended up long and lanky. This was done a couple of months ago. Another possible cause is over fertilisation. I water when necessary, but often include a little Baby Bio in the water. The other non-avocado plants seem to appreciate this but maybe not this plant.

Anyway, if we have an experienced Avocado grower on GC, then please post a reply and tell me where I am going wrong.

Best Regards

Ademission

Stay safe.

2. Selleri

Selleri Koala

Ratings:
    +7,559
    Hi @Ademission , that looks perfectly normal to me. Avocado is a large, vigorous tree and tends to put all effort in the new growth, especially at this time of the year. There are new shoots forming where you trimmed the stem so probably the plant is just focusing on that. You can cut the browning leaves off. The new growth will soon replace the lost greenery. :)

I had a large Avocado that every year dropped a lot of old leaves when the spring growth got going. I tried to zoom into an old picture to show the dying leaves.

Jaakko.JPG

Jaakkodamage.jpg