1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

beginner

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by taney, Jun 24, 2005.

1. taney

taney Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,

I am a beginner to be a gardener.I have bought a new house.The lawn is quite big & was very poorly maintained.The soil is very hard with grass too long.Lawn mower does not work on the surface & its very difficult to plough the land.What should I do?Someone has advised us to use a rotovetor for ploughing the lawn and then re-designing the lawn & planting new plants & grass?what do you suggest & where can I get a cheap rotovetor for hiring for 2 days?

thanx in advance

2. cathysue

cathysue Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    If your house is a new build then your lawn is probably suffering from a lack of soil. Builders often cover clay or rubble with a couple of inches of 'topsoil' and then grass seed. The grass sprouts but there isn't enough soil/nutrients for it to grow successfully. You probably have the right idea of rotovating it and starting anew. I would suggest trying local machinery hire shops eg. HS Hire (look in yellow pages. Alternatively you may have a local allotment holders group or horticultural society. Generally they have lots of very friendly and helpful people who will know someone with a rotovator who is likely to do the job at a reasonable price.