1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Begonias

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by Loki, Oct 25, 2018.

1. Loki

Loki Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,092
    I'm new to these plants, I used to hate them, this year I've fell in love.
    My question is...... is it worth overwintering? My plants where bought as plugs, £1:50 at most
    How does that compare with overwintering? I'm guessing my begonias will bulk up?
    What do you do?
    Is it worth overwintering? If so, how do I do it?

• Like Like x 1
    • Mike Allen

Mike Allen Total Gardener

Retired. Plant Pathologist.
      Ratings:
      +6,097
      Loki. Yes one of the little problems. Might I be correct in thinking you refer to Begonia semperviens, often used as edging plants, pink, red and white some with bronzed foliage? Usually these are discarded at the end of the season but they are easy to take cuttings from and even to pot up and keep the old plant through the winter. Keep them on the dry side, as even under glass over moist plants can suffer due to frost-like temperatures and conditions. In an unheated GH, a sheet of newspaper will often suffice overnight.