Bonchi = bonsai chilli plant the beginnings

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by james swann, Jul 31, 2012.

1. james swann

james swann Gardener

Ratings:
    +141
    This is my first attempt at beginning the chilli plant to bonchi changing process.
    Stage one clearing off the roots to allow them to become woody
    [​IMG]

This is a white hab which will start its transformation slowly over time from roughly november onwards. Also were going to be transforming or attempting to all of the plants from this years grow!!

• Like Like x 1
    • clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
      +19,594
      Excellent idea. Chillis are technically perennial shrubs so it should work if you can keep it warm enough through winter and keep pests off it.

• james swann

james swann Gardener

Ratings:
      +141
      Im using one of my favourite breeds chenzo which are specifically engineered to uk weather conditions

• sal73

sal73 Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +2,998
      James do you rekon I`m still in time to grow one from seeds and have a try as well?
      I was readyng about herbs and spices , bonsai , but completely forgot about chilli.
      [​IMG]
      rosemary
      [​IMG]
      basil
      [​IMG]
      salvia
      [​IMG]

• james swann

james swann Gardener

Ratings:
      +141
      From seed if under light maybe, but dont rate the chances im afraid however as recommended by fatalli.net im growing mine as big as possible 1st maybe a local garden centre end of season chilli plant would be more ideal.
      Its my first attempt at bonsaiing so feeling my way through the darkness so to speak

• Like Like x 1
      • james swann

james swann Gardener

Ratings:
        +141
        And theyre some awesome looking bonsais too :)

• james swann

james swann Gardener

Ratings:
        +141
        Sso thought idd updat the quest for the bonchi...

Woodings going extremely well with some new roots uncovered today .