Buying a second hand greenhouse

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by Anzia, Aug 3, 2015.

1. Anzia

Anzia Gardener

Ratings:
    +516
    I'm going to be picking up a second hand greenhouse on Friday morning that was advertised on Gumtree quite nearby to me. There were no photos. The description states that it's an 8 x 6 aluminium greenhouse in vgc and that it comes with staging and pots, which seems like a bonus. (I'll disinfect any pots before using them for new plants, obviously.)

I'm not bothered whether it's plastic or glass panels so haven't bothered asking that, but when I go to see it is there anything I should look for that as a newbie I might not be aware of needing to check to make sure it's in a good state? Greenhouses are a new area for me! Thanks lovely people :spinning:

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +45,627
    Check how it dismantles, hopefully it's aluminium bolts which should free up easily (not rusty steel ones that would need cutting off), has it got a metal base?, opening top vent with auto-opener (that works)?, how does the glass come out?, check if there are spares available for that type (i.e. glazing clips/seals)

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Anzia

Anzia Gardener

Ratings:
      +516
      Thank you John, that's very helpful. Much appreciated :)

• Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +52,310
      If you are dismantling it yourself it's a good idea to take pictures along the way to help you reconstruct it. :)

• Like Like x 1
      • Anzia

Anzia Gardener

Ratings:
        +516
        Thanks! I am packed with a camera, choice of markers to label key panes of glass, 2 blankets and a giant roll of bubble wrap, gloves... and some assistants who will meet me there!
        Fingers crossed for easy dismantling, minimal breakages, favourable weather and competent assistants (to make up for me, ha ha). See you on the other side!

• Like Like x 1
        • JWK

Ratings: