1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

can i transplant Pieris

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by McTavish14, Mar 2, 2015.

1. McTavish14

McTavish14 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +7
    Hi
    I'm not very good at gardening-being fairly new to having one, but my father has just died and I would like to transplant some of the plants from his garden to mine.
    I'm not sure if this will be possible but would appreciate if anyone can give me advice on the way most likely to succeed.
    The main problem is that he is in Aberdeen (Scotland) while I live in Doncaster (yorkshire) -so its about 6 hrs in the car.
    The main plants I'm hoping to take are Pieris (forest flame I think).
    One is fairly large, one medium and the third only 2 yrs old so not very big yet.
    I would like to know if I should if I should cut them down /prune them first ?(if so some advice on how would be appreciated)
    Also if I should put roots in a bag with soil or shake soil off ?
    I intend to try anyway and hope for the best,so any advice/suggestions would be welcome.

Mctavish

• Like Like x 2
    • pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
      Ratings:
      +85,993
      Its really down to how well established they are, the longer, the more difficult.

Try to keep at least some of the rootball intact, and pruning back the top growth is a good idea.