can yellow turf regenerate?

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by beginner gardener, Sep 19, 2010.

1. beginner gardener

beginner gardener Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello!

I am new to the world of gardening and am a bit worried that I may have already made a monumental error! We laid turf over a large area of the garden yesterday and the good news is that the ground was carefully prepared but the bad news is the turf was awful!
    We bought turf from B&Q but the only stuff they had was half price as it was mostly yellow. The staff assured me that by laying it quickly and keeping it well watered and fed (I've read you shouldn't feed it until the roots are established?) it will be fine and will turn green. Does anyone have any advice about this please? Can yellow turf regenerate if it is well looked after? I hope so! :dh:

2. HarryS

HarryS Eternally Optimistic Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +16,246
    Hello BG
    A couple of years ago I also bought some yellowing turf from B and Q , I needed to finish a small area of my garden off and was in a hurry. Unfortunately the turf never came good , in fact I replaced it this spring with good B n Q turf . With turf you have to keep dropping in to see if they have a new pallet of it , the remnants and the old stuff should be avoided. Maybe one of the lawn gurus on this forum may be able to give you some more positive advice.

3. Doghouse Riley

Doghouse Riley Head Gardener

"Pleasantly unemployed."
    Ratings:
    +4,411
    This is exactly the same advice I've given each time the question comes up.
    Generally, there's nothing wrong with B & Q products, other than in many instances their high prices and unknowledgable staff.