1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Cherry Laurel trees - leaf damage?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Joseph Boyes, Apr 5, 2020.

1. Joseph Boyes

Joseph Boyes Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

I need some advice as I’m pretty new to the gardening world aside from the online self-taught knowledge (which can be dangerous and misleading).

I have 14 Cherry Laurel trees as pictured and my plan is create a floating hedge. The trees were planted in September 2019. I’ve started to notice some of the leaves have been going brown at the tip and some are discolouration - starting going yellow.

Note the images show the trees are not staked, but in reality they are all secured to the fence.

I have since carefully turned over the soil around the base to aid oxygen to the roots.

I am looking to get the water and soil ph checked.

Obviously I don’t want them to die and looking for advice on how to help them grow healthily.

Any guidance or wise words would be great!

thanx
    Joe

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    Looks like older leaver turning Yellow? Being evergreen it will drop older leaves to make way for newer ones, so might be that?

Its been dry ... if you haven't watered, and your part of the country hasn't had rain recently, I would water.