Clematis wilt.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by silu, Jun 9, 2014.

1. silu

silu gardening easy...hmmm

Ratings:
    +8,083
    Anybody got an effective treatment for this annoying condition? My Marie Boisselot has it on some of it's stems while others are flowing away freely. I'm no expert on Clematis but know all the basics about positioning, shaded roots, pruning of the varieties and mine get lots of grub. None of my other Clematis have wilt....YET! except this 1. I know clematis can be extremely fickle and probably I'd be best to dig this 1 up and buy another but loathed to do that as this 1 is about 15 years old and when not wilting looks lovely with huge blooms. If the worst comes to the worst and it gets really bad with wilt, am I bonkers to try and take cuttings from it with regard to the cuttings then being susceptible? I've has success with Montana cuttings before but never tried with the big flowering types. Are they tricky to strike and any tips. Thanks.

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    "Plant deep" is the only thing I know of. Don't think that is a cure, just enables the plant to come-back from underground stems.

3. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    P.S. If tricky to strike then layer it? Saw a useful tip on YouTube the other day. Get a really flimsy 9cm square pot [I normally throw them away when I buy a plant in one - I'll keep them from now on!]. Cut two vertical slots in opposite sides, about 1/2" wide. Half fill with compost, route the stem [to be rooted] through the slit'ed sides, and fill up with more compost - then put a rock on top to stop the pot moving. He scraped off a bit of "bark" gently with his finger, dipped his finger in hormone rooting powder and rubbed it onto the exposed cambium.

When he came to move he was rooted to the spot ...

... I'll get my coat!!

• Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Palustris

Palustris Total Gardener

Retired