1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Complete Beginner - Hedge Planting

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Dmistry, May 8, 2020.

1. Dmistry

Dmistry Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello and Good Morning

I’m completely new to garden maintenance and was looking for some advice. I live within a conservation area and have a spinney area at the back of the garden that has little privacy as it is adjacent to a public footpath. I have a hollybush covering a partial part of the garden however there is about 40 metres I’m looking to cover with hedging.

Attached images show the existing hollybush however I’m looking to create coverage in the gaps against the iron wrought fence in the images.

Question is what is the best hedging if I’m looking to achieve 2m+ in height and also how easy are hedges to plant ? Should I get a Gardner in to achieve this ?

Many Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,204
    Hi,

Probably Green Privet would be the cheapest and quickest grower, though you are talking a couple of years to reach that height, it will need regular cutting !

Some other hedging plants need less maintenance but generally slower growing so will take longer to reach the height you want.

Its often said that buying smaller plants give better results than buying larger ones as they settle in better and so grow quicker.