1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Conifer Advice Please

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Glen1973, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Glen1973

Glen1973 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

I am relatively new to the world of horticulture and was after some advice regarding Conifers.

I currently have conifers the full length (approx 35ft) of my rear garden bordering my/my neighbours property.

My question is: currently they are approx 10ft tall and i would like to cut them down to around 6ft tall without killing them (due to the fact that my garden is rather narrow and the conifers are rather overbearing. i feel it ould be a shame to get rid of them and put a fence up!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Glen

2. Doghouse Riley

Doghouse Riley Head Gardener

"Pleasantly unemployed."
    Ratings:
    +4,411
    Hi Glen and welcome.

Shouldn't be a problem.
    The problem can arise if you trim the outer branches to cut the hedge back, as then you will sometimes expose the dead foliage on inner branches.
    If you're just going to level off the tops, it will be fine.