1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Cordyline australis

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Eastlondon, Mar 3, 2012.

1. Eastlondon

Eastlondon Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]

Hi, I'm new to this so please be kind (I hope I'm posting in teh right place).

Anyway, can any of you good people tell me if this is definitely cordyline australis? I also want to know how old this one might be, I would love one in my London garden which is pretty sheltered, there are a few of these trees dotted around so they obviously aren't too effected by our winters. I expect I will have to wait a long time before one gets to this size but I hope to buy a reasonabley big plant.

Any advice would be gratefully received!:WINK1:

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +85,629
    You are correct, its cordyline australis.

I'm only guessing, but I would say 15 to 20 yrs old.

They have had a few problems temperature wise in the last few years an a good few of the large ones have been frosted right down to the ground.

I think in the cities though its not as cold as other areas out in the sticks, so you should be OK.

They grow fast, so personally, I'd not buy a very large plant that is totally potbound, medium sized, in a large pot, would be best.

It will root better, pot bound plants often dont make good root and become unstable after a couple of years.