Cymbidiums and Phalaenopsis help

Discussion in 'Other Plants' started by kamchow, Jan 7, 2013.

1. kamchow

kamchow Gardener

Ratings:
    +54
    total newbie to Cymbidiums & Phalaenopsis, so bear with me as i ask daft questions:biggrin:

told mum about some Cymbidium King Orchids at Homebase, but she said somebody told her these type of Orchids only bloom once and then should be discarded.

so, is that true or a complete porky-pie?

next, mum has a Phalaenopsis that has flowered and now just a "root/stem" thingy left. and a lot of the roots are brown and withered. she has neglected them / does not have the knowledge to look after them.

so, is there still a chance for me to revive the plant?
    or has it gone to Phalaenopsis heaven?

thank you.

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +84,381
    Porkie pie, but its unlikely to flower again until late this year.

[/quote]next, mum has a Phalaenopsis that has flowered and now just a "root/stem" thingy left. and a lot of the roots are brown and withered. she has neglected them / does not have the knowledge to look after them.

so, is there still a chance for me to revive the plant?
    or has it gone to Phalaenopsis heaven?
    thank you.[/quote]

No Leaves?
    Sounds like it might be a bit far gone, and possibly best replaced

• Like Like x 1
    • Sue.

Sue. Gardener

Ratings:
      +49
      Mum loved these and consequently got given them for birthdays and mothers day. Most of them lasted quite a few years, and we were able to split the cybidiums when they got large They need exceptionally free draining compost, infact mostly bark

She kept them on a north facing windowsill in the kitchen behind the sink and they loved it there.

Let them dry pretty well out before watering, then give a real good soak for an hour or two, pref. with some seaweed liquid or orchid feed in the water. Allow to drain thoroughly, and don't let the roots stand in water.

• Like Like x 2