1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Digging out and replanting borders

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Claudette, Jul 18, 2010.

1. Claudette

Claudette Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

One side of my garden is quite well established, the other looks as if it's never managed to get going, and is dry, patchy, yuck. I'm fairly new to gardening, and need some tips!

Although the ground is hard/dry/tough, if I actually don't want (& I largely don't) any of the plants on the yuck side, is it the wrong time of year to get a new border dug, and established? If there are plants I want to keep (I have some Lavenders and Rubella which are passable), is a move now completely the wrong time of year?

Thanks in advance for any tips or advice

Claudette

2. Sussexgardener

Sussexgardener Gardener

Ratings:
    +41
    Yes, now is a bad time to try and move perennials. Better to wait until late autumn or spring. There are pros and cons for both times of the year - me, I prefer autumn as I think the soil is still warm enough for new or moved plants to settle in before winter.

3. Rhyleysgranny

Rhyleysgranny Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    You could if in a lot of compost on the 'yuck' side in preparation. Mushroom compost is cheap cheerful and readily available. It will help to retain moisture in the soil as well as feed the plants when you put them in.

4. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener