1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Eltex greenhouse heater

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by justsomeguy, Feb 26, 2010.

1. justsomeguy

justsomeguy Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, I am new to using a greenhouse and am lucky enough to have been giver an Eltex parrafin heater (see photo). Can anyone give me some help in its correct operation, which controls do what etc!! There are 2 screw adjusters on the right and a lever on the left.

2. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,125
    Hi & welcome to GC.. Yes the lever on the left is to snuff out the flames & the two with the knurled knobs are to adjust the height of the wick & the size of your flame the higher the flame the hotter it gets, BUT don't have the flames too high as it will smoke badly.. Ideally it should be a nice rounded yellow flame I think if my memory serves correctly. You will need to trim the wicks weekly as well. Oh & one last thing.. Empty out the parrafin left in it at the end of the winter, don't leave it in over winter as it goes stale & will not light.... :thumb: That certainly was a lucky gift have fun as they are excellent heaters..

• Useful Useful x 1
    • wilroda

wilroda Gardener

Ratings:
      +0
      I have a similar one to yours, and despite trimming the wick It seems to have a mind of its own!