Fargesia as informal hedge in front garden

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by newtoallthis, Jul 6, 2010.

1. newtoallthis

newtoallthis Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm very new to gardening, but very keen so apologise if I'm asking obvious question!

I have planted 2 fargesias in a very small sunny front of house area, in a rocky clay soil (I did add lots of compost when planting), in an effort to create an informal hedge. They're ok, but not really thriving. The weeds surrounding them are out of control but manual weeding in such thick clay is very difficult.

I have a few questions...

- will they survive in clay?
    - giving that manual weeding isn't working, and I can't use weedkiller so close to them, what are my other options? Would cutting the weeds down to stalks help at all?
    - are the weeds hindering their growth? I thought all bamboo was vigorous enough to crowd out other plants - is Fargesia more sensitive? What is a normal rate of growth for them?
    - what type of feed would they most like and how often? The space is small, surrounded on all sides by brick and paving, so I'm not worried about them being invasive.

Be kind to a newbie!

2. wiseowl

wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +89,258
    Hi Newtoallthis I,m not sure what type you have,but this is what I have found, hope this is of some help to you:)
    Fargesia murielae
    Plant Strengths: Sun loving draught tolerant plant; Ornamental winter bark / tracery; All round tough plant suitable for problem areas; Ideal for fast growing screening; Evergreen foliage for all year round colour and screening; Attractive form or foliage for all year interest; Tolerates full sun and sandy, drought-prone soils; Suitable for hedging or topiary; Tolerates heavy clay soils.

3. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,013
    Hi Newtoallthis and welcome to the forum.