Flooded Garden Help ! ! !

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Preston Buttton, Apr 15, 2005.

1. Preston Buttton

Preston Buttton Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a newbie to site and need some help!

I have a very small garden, and at least a 1/4 spends most of its time completely flooded! Water can stand on the surface for weeks at a time.It takes a dry spell of at least 2 weeks(impossible in this country!) before water disappears, and even then under the surface is completely soaked! I have,tried and failed with all the following:

1.I can't build a drain to move water off land as it is impossible/expensive/illegal to get it to a drain
    2.The whole area were I live has a clay layer and it is impossible to dig through or make a soakaway a viable option.
    3.I have tried improving the soil with nutrients/sand etc...I doesn't work

So my last idea, is this.
    To raise the affected bed by about 1 foot...by enclosing the affected area with concrete slabs/flags and then filling (what would now look like an enclosed pit) to the top with first a layer of gravel,then sand,then top soil. I think the whole problem is a very high water table and what I want to ask everybody on the forum is

a)Will this work?
    b)Is there an alternative?

Any advice is WELCOME! ! !

Thanks

2. Bayleaf

Bayleaf Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Preston

Just a thought, but would a bog garden / pond area be feasible?
    Possible probs with enclosing with slabs would be establishing firm footings - if ground is so wet

How big an area are we talking?

3. primrose

primrose Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with Bayleaf. Work with what you've got, and put in a pond, that way you will attract much more wildlife aswell!

4. Preston Buttton

Ratings:
    +0
    The area is approx 10ft by 2ft