Garden Lawn

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Steve s, Apr 1, 2005.

1. Steve s

Steve s Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to gardening so pease bare with me. I have large back lawn that is in need of replacement, how do I go about this? do i need to remove all the existing lawn which needs to be levelled out and then re seed or can i just rotovate the lawn and level out and then re seed.

All advice would be appreciated.
    Regards
    Steve

2. Fran

Fran Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Are you sure that it needs replacement, and not an amount of TLC rescueing to restore it back to beautiful turf again. Whats its problems at the moment.

If you remove and then seed its going to be a year or two before it looks like a good lawn. Returfing will give you a quicker finish.

3. Steve s

Steve s Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    The problem with the lawn is it has different heights in different places and I would like to level this out it also has a lot of moss and rubbish that has been left for years. There were some old greenhouses that had been there for years also and a pond that have now been removed. I dont want ot go down the road of turfing as I would like to give it a go myself. The soil around loks very good we also back onto a farmers field so I am guessing a bit that the soil will be ok. It looks ok in other gardens on the street.

Regards
    Steve

4. Mrs cloudy

Mrs cloudy Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve