Gardening in Mediterranean Turkey - help please

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by Lantana, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Lantana

Lantana Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +8
    I have an almost empty plot of 1500 square metres on a steep slope in south west Turkey. The soil is poor almost all rock. We have 25 well established olive trees and not much else. I am fairly new to gardening and am a bit overwhelmed. We do not have garden centres here as such, just places which sell plants and mostly the seller doesn't know the name of the plant or how to care for it. I have bought lots of books and looked at dozens of websites and have divided the land up into various sections with dry stone walls to retain soil and create some semi raised beds.

None of my neighbours grow plants, only vegetables and they all think I am mad to want trees, shrubs and flowers, so no help there

Would now really appreciate some planting ideas from experienced gardeners. I want to fill lots of space on a relatively modest budget and i want a natural garden with appropriate plants for the region. Is this an impossibility do you think?

2. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +28,240
    Welcome to GC Lantana, (a nice plant).
    Perhaps Victoria will be able to offer some advice as she is a Med gardener although in Portugal she has a lot of experience in dry climate growing.:smile:

• Like Like x 1
    • Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
      +0
      Welcome to Gardeners Corner:sign0016: I've worked in Turkey, but not gardened there.

Did see the lads out there grow a lawn from seed in just 3 days though:thud:

• Like Like x 1
      • longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
        +23,089
        I know that you get reasonable heat and not a lot of rain in the summer, but what about winter?

One of my faves that may work for you is an Isreali native, Cerinthe palestina...........
        [​IMG]

[​IMG]