Growing from seed - advice please

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by sandhun, Apr 23, 2021.

1. sandhun

sandhun Gardener

Ratings:
    +48
    Hello, I'm attempting to grow from seed for the first time. I have the following:

Blue grass
    Salvia
    Cosmos
    Verbena rigida
    Verbena buenos aires

Some of these have slightly different growing requirements but to make things easy on myself I'm using the same conditions for all.

I have them growing indoors on a table about 2 metres away from a window. Temperature is around 20.5 degrees.

I noticed some of the Cosmos stems are getting leggy and falling over. Anything I can do to fix/avoid that?

I can see evidence of the Salvias coming up.

Does my compost look too dry? It's difficult to know how often I should be spraying water into these pots.

Attached Files:

2. SandyNI

SandyNI Gardener

Ratings:
    +253
    I'm a beginner too... so I'm not a lot of help! But I had a problem of over watering so I bought a soil tester for a tenner from Amazon and it's pretty accurate at telling you whether the soil is wet, moist or dry. Also, I water all seedlings from the bottom... I stick them in a tray of water when they need it. Here's a link to the tester... https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dooppa-Tes...jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

• Useful Useful x 1
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +52,311
      They need as much light as possible Sandhun, window ledges are a good place but not in direct sunlight if possible. They are growing leggy because they are reaching for light.

If they aren't too leggy it's possible to re-plant them lower in the pot. But with what I can see with yours it might be better to start some new seed off, it's not to late.

• Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • HarryS

HarryS Eternally Optimistic Gardener

Retired
        Ratings:
        +16,246