1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Have I killed my hydrangea?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Vivien L, Apr 9, 2021.

1. Vivien L

Vivien L Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I am totally new to gardening and really don't have a clue about plants but would like to start having container plants on my patio (sun in the morning, shade afternoon) and decking (sun all day). My daughter bought me a hydrangea plant for mothers day and I have re-potted it and put it in the garden, after a short while, the blooms turned brown and I read that I should cut them down to the next set of leaves which I did. I also think I may have overwatered it. As you can see from the photos, it's looking awful and I don't know what I can do to revive it if this is possible. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thank you, Viv

Attached Files:

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +85,932
    Looks like it was a forced plant and very soft growth.
    It's been frosted.
    Could still be alive but I think you will get a lot of die back.

3. Vivien L

Vivien L Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you, should I just leave it alone and see what happens?

4. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +85,932
    Yes probably best, try not to get any more frost on it.