1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Have I killed my lawn with too much Solabiol?

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by Toby Ziegler, Aug 8, 2019.

1. Toby Ziegler

Toby Ziegler Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I am a total newbie gardener. We had some turf laid in April, about 3m by 5m, so only a small lawn.

We've been watering it most nights during dry spells and it seems to have taken root pretty well and I've mown it with a push mower about half a dozen times now.

On a friend's advice, in order to make the lawn greener, last weekend I scattered a load of Solabiol granules on it. Because the stuff was seaweed based I thought there would be no harm in erm, over-generously scattering the granules. Now I think I've killed the garden as there are now big brown patches.

Is there anything I can do to save it? Is watering every night a good idea? IMG_20190807_183435.jpg IMG_20190807_183448.jpg

Attached Files:

2. CanadianLori

CanadianLori Total Gardener

Battle Axe
    Ratings:
    +30,610
    Welcome to the forum @Toby Ziegler ! Too much of anything is deadly but grass can be very forgiving. Give it a gentle brushing/rake to pull some of the dead away and then keep it at least lightly watered so new growth can fill in. :)

• Like Like x 1
    • Liz the pot

Liz the pot Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,259