1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Have I killed my potted Hydrangea?

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by racheyf, Jul 13, 2014.

1. racheyf

racheyf Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,

What do you think - has my once lovely Hydrangea gone to heaven?!

So I made an error by buying a cheap plastic container with no drainage holes. I am new to gardening so didnt know then how important drainage holes were. For a good 2 weeks it seemed to thrive. Lush looking and blooming. Then some of the flowers started to get brown edges so I turned to google and found out about the possibility of root rot from poor drainage.

So I took the plant out of the pot and rested it on a bin liner whilst my husband drilled some drainage holes in the bottom. The roots looked very white but the soil was extremely wet through. By the time I came to do this, the the flowers were starting to wilt too (as well as some petals turning brown on the edges).

I put some grit in the bottom of the pot and used a potting mix that would give it nutrients for 4 months and help with healthy roots.

That was yesterday...today the plant is wilting even more.

I know it needs lots of water, but I was so worried I had over watered it with the lack of drainage for 2 weeks, I dont know if I am now under watering in my bid to prevent root rot. I wonder if I am killing it with the lack of water.