have u ever regretted buying a cheap plastic greenhouse?!

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by bubbly, Sep 28, 2005.

1. bubbly

bubbly Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a very newbie. I bought a cheap 4 tiers plastic greenhouse from Focus a couple of weeks ago.

What are you supposed to put in it? It's so small. All I have got in there is a chili plant that I bought from Ebay as I'm not brave enough to plant anything myself yet and I have not a clue what else to put in it. I'm starting to regret buying it now. I couldn't resist it when I saw a leaflet through the post to advertised that it was in sales in Focus(only for a certain period of time!).

Also I just don't know when to do the zips up?! When I did, condensation appeared. (sigh!)

Any suggestions?

2. petal

petal Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - I had one but it only lasted one winter - the zips broke with constant use and it was so unsteady we had to screw it to a wall. I kept the staging which I've put in my new greenhouse.
    If you get the gardening bug my advice is to save up for a proper greenhouse. There's lots of bargains to be had early in the new year when all the large companies are having sales.

3. hans

hans Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +745
    I agree with Petal, get a proper one well fix it to the 'base' and you'll have something that will last for years. Mine came from Focus but it was Madleys then. good luck.

4. frogesque

frogesque Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I've seen the plastic tents and they look less substantial than a kid's wendy house.

For planting and bringing on seedlings and cuttings you can make a solid cold frame from a few bricks and a discarded glazing unit(s) (most council reclycling depots will have some) and it def. won't blow away in gale! You also need a cat screen made from wire or plastic mesh otherwise kitty will make a very comfy sunlounger out of your future prize winners when you have the frame open ;) .