1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Hello from an absolute beginner

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Signalman, May 22, 2016.

1. Signalman

Signalman Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hello

I recently moved in to my first house. I've never really taken a big interest in gardening, until now, so I could do with a bit of advice!
    The garden was turfed when we moved in and that's it, it's a blank canvas as such.
    The garden faces west so the sun works its way across during the day. I don't know anything about the soil yet. The house was built on a brownfield site where a factory once was. The builders put a layer of soil down before the turf but I don't know what it's like under that.
    Anyway, I would like to just try and start with a basic flower bed. Ideally I would like some plants that will attract wildlife. I like lavender and would like to plant some herbs too. Sort of cottage garden type flowers I suppose. I was thinking about putting a bed in along the wall at the back. I thought a raised bed would be good but I don't know what opinions are on these. It was mainly for neatness and the fact we have two children and one on the way so I thought it would create a sort of boundary. Also it seems most of the plants I have looked at need well drained soil, how can I achieve this?
    Sorry this has been a long post, I'm looking forward to hearing back.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1