1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Hello from Gateshead

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Grumpy Wombat, Aug 7, 2021.

1. Grumpy Wombat

Grumpy Wombat Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Everyone

Newby forum member here, although I've been gardening with various degrees of success for about 20 years or so. I'm in Gateshead in NE England and the garden is steeply terraced, with stony soil and very little protection from the westerly winds. The upside is that we have great views! I'm reasonably successful at growing shrubs and herbaceous plants however, because of the wind, fruit and veg are much more of a challenge but it doesn't stop me trying!

BTW, I'm not really grumpy - or a wombat for that matter :-)

• Funny Funny x 3
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +52,537
      Welcome to Gardeners Corner Grumpy Wombat. Your garden sounds like mine with the exception of terracing, mine is on a slope. Great views here too. :)

Yet to see a wombat in Britain, let alone a grumpy one. :biggrin:

• Funny Funny x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
      • Michael Hewett

Michael Hewett Total Gardener

Retired
        Ratings:
        +18,001
        Welcome to Gardeners' Corner :smile: It's a very friendly forum ...
        You're not a wombat ? well I don't know what you mean by that but I am definitely a dinosaur !