Help designing new garden...please!!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Clueless76, Mar 3, 2013.

1. Clueless76

Clueless76 Gardener

Ratings:
    +117
    Hi all, I'm a newbie with a new house and a desire for a lovely garden... And not a lot of idea where to start! My garden is roughly 1/3 acre and north facing with open country side to the right side and neighbours high hedge on the left. Bang in the middle is a concrete lid for septic tank and it drains diagonally across the whole plot so am worried about roots and such! The whole garden was weed suppressed and piled five inches deep with stones and bark... And I have no rear access to dispose of it so am trying to reuse what we can to a, save money and b, I don't really want to lug it all through my house! After reading these forums I am trying to put in hard landscaping first and I know that I would like nice meandering paths to walk through with stunning beds with a cottage feel, and also a fern garden in the most shadiest part of the garden... But help on how to achieve this..on a very tight budget...*gulp* ... For the paths I am thinking to just reuse the stones but I will have to have meters and meters of edging, and it all seems very expensive. The soil itself is very stony but seems quite fertile with a lot of worms( they are a good sign?) and I have started digging the whole garden over and trying to remove the deep roots that are all over, we have taken out a lot of overgrown blackthorn hedging ,I believe this is the culprit? But it is so daunting on such a large area, any advice? Thanks.

2. Clueless76

Clueless76 Gardener

Ratings:
    +117
    image.jpg image.jpg

• Like Like x 1
    • JohnK

JohnK Gardener

Ratings:
      +3