1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help for a total novice gardener

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Tara Jane, Mar 22, 2020.

1. Tara Jane

Tara Jane Gardener

upholsterer
    Ratings:
    +140
    I have inherited a lovely garden and I want to keep it nice. It’s got area that are quite old and over grow. I cleared one are last spring and planted some salvias, some are the big purple ones that die back and a couple of woody ones. Only one looks alive. Have I killed my first purchase or am I being a bit premature? Thank you in advance.

2. NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
    Ratings:
    +21,249
    @Tara Jane With out knowing which Salvias the woody ones are it is hard to be definite, but I would leave until the end of May before saying it's dead. Depending on where you are and the winter you had they could be quite slow into growth and start to flower towards the end of the summer.

3. Tara Jane

Tara Jane Gardener

upholsterer
    Ratings:
    +140

4. Tara Jane

Tara Jane Gardener

upholsterer
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thank you very much. I thought I’d put the labels in a safe place...
    I’m sure the woody one was called hot lips. It looks decidedly dead. I’ll do as you say . Thanks again
    Tara

5. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,201
    Hi,