1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help in growing flowers/Roses

Discussion in 'Roses' started by Asgars Garden, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Asgars Garden

Asgars Garden Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am a really novice when it comes to gardening, so this question may seem a little 'basic'....sorry.

We've just had some planters made out of spare decking boards we had left over from a recent install, and wondered if we can put landscaping bark into the bottom of it to make up the base and top it with proper soil to allow flowers/roses to grow. I was wondering if this is possible/advisable?

Regards

Asgar

2. ARMANDII

ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +100,836
    It all depends on the depth of the Planters, Asgars. Bark could help drainage in the Planter but I'm not sure if the bark might encourage fungi. Filling Planters with "proper soil" is not a good idea as it can solidify like rock!! It would be far better to use General Purpose Compost and feed the Roses with something like Tomato Feed to encourage flowering [but only up to the end of August}.

3. merleworld

merleworld Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,087
    I usually put bits of polystyrene at the bottom of my planters to aid drainage, or you can use broken pots or gravel/stones.