Help on getting rid of this bush.

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by soopiedoo, Jul 24, 2019.

1. soopiedoo

soopiedoo Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all

I'm a newbie and I thank you very much for letting me join the forum.
    I have a problem with a neighbours bush ( I think that's what it is ) growing from a side entrance and now covering mine.
    I have chopped it back every year the bits that come over to my side,but without the roots being destroyed it just grows and grows.
    I've tried asking the neighbour but have been ignored. I took the final drastic step (which I didn't want to do) of phoning their letting agency ( house is rented ) and asking if they could do something about it. I explained that it is growing down a side entrance, supposed to be used for access to the property and that I couldn't use mine anymore as it is blocking the gate.
    The letting agents response was that it was the tenants responsibility to take care of the garden not theirs. The problem is the tenant my neighbour does not do anything about it.
    Can I take steps to get rid off it and if so how would I go about it please?
    I have attached some photos of the front and back of the entrance to allow you to see my problem. Also some photos of the stems of this plant on the neighbours side which get larger every year.
    Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

20190719_162451.jpg 20190719_162501(1).jpg 20190719_190940(1).jpg 20190723_155200.jpg 20190723_155132.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2019
  2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,184
    Hi,

Normally one has to say that its illegal for you to do anything to plants on other folks property other than trim back anything that overhangs your property.