Help...Roof Terrace & gardening novice!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Tilly37, Apr 21, 2015.

1. Tilly37

Tilly37 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Hello!

We have moved into a flat with a beautiful roof terrace, never having had our own outside space before we are really wanting to make it as nice as we can. The previous owner has left several plastic terracotta colour pots in different sizes with goodness knows what in them, pretty sure most are dead or weeds! There are a few lovely wooden planters & a couple of stone ones. Now, I'm a novice, & my husband can mow the lawn (which we don't have) but that's about it!! So....

All the plant pots (plastic type ones) seem to have no drainage holes, is this going to be a problem?

What should I do with everything that's in said pots? Uproot all plants?

Can I reuse all the soil that's in the pots?

What can I plant that will make it look lovely & bright? It's south facing, on the 3rd storey but pretty sheltered by other buildings, railings all around it & about 15ft by 8ft size wise. We have a lovely bench in one corner & a table & chairs for eating outside too.

There are ALOT of those terracotta coloured plastic pots, they're not they type you get plants in at garden centre, they're thicker plastic & look very nice, especially as there are a heap of different sizes, my issue is the drainage, can't afford to buy all new suggestions?

Any help would be so so appreciated, I so sorry if any of my questions are stupid or insane but I really have NO idea where to start!!!!!

Many many thanks in advance

Tilly

• Friendly Friendly x 1
    • clanless

clanless Total Gardener

Gentleman of leisure.
      Ratings:
      +7,618
      Hi Tilly,

I'm a great fan of spring/summer bulbs - which I think would be ideal in your situation, to give some guaranteed colour. You can purchase some lovely coloured bulbs.