1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with lawn, advice needed.

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Liam G, Apr 5, 2020.

1. Liam G

Liam G Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all, I'm a total novice when it comes to gardens. Moved in to a house last November so haven't touched the garden till now.

It was between 6-8 inches long. I noticed alot of moss, clumps of grass and a few weeds. So gave it a medium cut for its first one then put down 4in1 feed and moss/weed killer. This was 2 weeks ago.
    Came back today and raked as much dead moss as I could off and then gave it another cut this time on the shortest setting I could.

I've attached pics to show what I've been left with. Looks quite black, patchy, yellow in places, thin.
    Along the left side next to fence and shed it's in constant shade all day. And I noticed in winter it gets really boggy/swampy in the corner at the shed so I've stabbed it a few times to try and aeriate(?) It.

So basically I could do with some advice on how to proceed if you would be so kind please.
    Should I sprinkle fertiliser on top and scatter seeds? Which kind of seeds? How to stop It getting swampy in the shade when it rains?
    Any help would be appreciated thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667