Hi folks! Newbie needs a little advice...

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Daz, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Daz

Daz Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, my name is Darren and I've just joined the site. I am fairly new to growing, and I figure it will be a valuable resource. I aquired an allotment at the start of the year, so will be growing a few bits and bobs during this year.

I actually have a question. I started some Sunflowers back at the end of January, and kept them indoors under a daylight lamp (16 hours a day). Well, daft old me decided to put them out in the greenhouse a few weeks ago, due to the weather being so nice. Unfortunately, I forgot to pay attention to the photo period outside, and 4 out of the 6 Sunflower plants are now flowering.

Do I just leave them? Will they revert to vegetative growth as the days get longer? Or should I nip off the buds? And if I nip them off, will this cause the plants to grow multiple heads?

Sorry for the newbie questions!

Thanks in advance, Daz! :thumb:

2. HarryS

HarryS Eternally Optimistic Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +16,246
    Hello Daz
    I would just leave them. They can go outside in the middle of May after the last frosts in your area. As the flower heads die just nip them off then , and you will get more flower heads forming. Normally I plant my seeds in early March. I love sunflowers , they are such a happy flower:). I grow them every year as a competition for the grand children , but they are really for me !:happydance:

• Like Like x 2
    • Daz

Daz Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
      +0
      Thanks Harry, I appreciate the info! I thought it would probably be best to just leave them to get on with, but wasn't really sure. I will leave them be and see what happens! Cheers, Daz. :thumb:

• Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
      Ratings:
      +14,124