1. A very warm welcome to our new members from GW forums!
    Please see post #99 in the thread below for important information to help your friends wishing to join
    Gardeners World forum members gathering place
    Dismiss Notice

High winds

Discussion in 'Poly-Tunnel Gardening' started by Jimb0b, Jun 14, 2018.

1. Jimb0b

Jimb0b Gardener

NHS
    Ratings:
    +199
    Hi all this is my first year with a polytunnel and with the recent or current high winds I was just wondering what you all do?

Do you close it all up or leave it open or partly?

Thanks,

James

• Like Like x 1
    • Plosh

Plosh Apprentice Gardener

Livestock farmer
      Ratings:
      +18
      It depends on the direction of the wind. From the east or west I'm fine as my tunnel is oriented north - south. Whether I open fully or partly depends on the temperature. I have some very large, heavy stones that I use to chock the doors so that there is no chance of them blowing about. If the wind is forecast to be particularly strong I would generally leave the doors shut.

• Like Like x 1
      • Gail_68

Gail_68 Guest

Ratings:
        +0
        Hello @Jimb0b nice to see you on here and I hope these windows don't affect your allotment bad besides other members who grow outside also :)

• Steve R

Steve R Soil Furtler

Carer
        Ratings:
        +3,697
        In high winds it is a known fact that greenhouses with a pane missing, easily lose a few more, I apply the same principle to my tunnels. I keep doors firmly shut in high winds.

Steve...:)

• Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • silu

silu gardening easy...hmmm

Ratings:
          +8,082