1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Honeysuckle/Obelisk Disaster

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by newbiegreenfingers, May 7, 2020.

1. newbiegreenfingers

newbiegreenfingers Gardener

Ratings:
    +11
    Hi there! i'm a complete newbie and would love if someone had some miracle remedy for my honeysuckle issue...

It was a well-established plant, probably had been in situ about 20 years and I had to move it due to completely changing the unloved, unkempt garden very early in 2019.

I cut it down to almost ground level and put in a pot, with a tall obelisk (which I am now kind of regretting), thinking that it wouldn't grow much in the first year. How wrong was I? it flew up the obelisk and being a complete novice, i trained it upwards rather than round and round to start with.

So now I have a 4 ft obelisk with the honeysuckle going absolutely bonkers at the top and very little all the way down. The shoots coming out at the top aren't very keen on being trained downwards and I'm now regretting the whole obselisk option and wish I'd replanted in the garden with an arch or against the fence.

Any ideas on how I can extract without risking cutting it all the way back again and killing it? I fully appreciate this may not have an answer I will like :-)

thank you!
    upload_2020-5-7_15-43-19.png

2. ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,203
    Hi and Welcome to the Forum,