1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I grow clematis?

Discussion in 'Other Plants' started by Barbara Green, Mar 25, 2013.

1. Barbara Green

Barbara Green Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I'm new here and new to gardening too. My friend has some lovely clematis which she recently showed me and I'd like to have a go at growing my own from scratch. But being a newbie I really need some guidance ... I'd like to know in particular:

Sowing - when to do this
    Situation - where they'll do best (in the open / lots of sun / minimal sun etc.).
    Soil type - do they favour certain compositions? Should I fertilize them?
    Watering - how much and how often
    Pruning - is this required, and if so then how much
    Pests and diseases - what are the dangers and how to protect against them

I'd be so grateful for any replies.

Barbara Green

:)

2. silu

silu gardening easy...hmmm

Ratings:
    +8,083
    Welcome to Gardener's Corner:)
    Sure there will be more knowledgeable than me on Clematis but here's the best I can do.
    Sowing- not easy from seed, takes considerable time to germinate. I'd personally buy a plant. They are not usually expensive to buy, you can pick them up even at supermarkets for a few £s. Easier from cuttings but takes a while to get a decent sized plant this way. You could maybe try getting cuttings to strike off your friend's Clematis. Info on how to on the net.