1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

how do I know what soil type I have?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Keinnaf, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Keinnaf

Keinnaf Gardener

Ratings:
    +38
    bit of a thick question I am sure but to me it is just brown (I am a COMPLETE beginner here sorry)

so how do I know what sort of soil it is? it doesn't seem claylike, just sort of brown and crumblyish, soil like really

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    1. Dig a hole = about a foot wide and deep. Pour a couple of buckets of water into it. How quickly does the water drain away?

Quickly = free draining soil, possibly sandy. Slow = dense subsoil and/or clay soil, might need drains adding. Clay will stick to your boots in Winter / after rain too.

2. Take a handful and squeeze it hard. Does it retain its shape (clay) or just trickle through your fingers (sand), or crumble (that's Loam - full marks for that!)

Are there a lot of stones? They are a nuisence for growing Carrots and Parsnips.

3. Acid / Alkaline. Do people grow Rhododendrons near you? Are Hydrangeas Blue, rather than Pink? If so its acid, otherwise probably alkaline. You can get a testing kit for a more accurate analysis.

4. When you bug the hole did you find half-a-brick, or any other indication that builders have just buried their junk? That's soil-from-hell - and you need to get all the rubbish out.