1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

How much of the stuff in my head can you help with?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by GYO newbie, May 7, 2015.

1. GYO newbie

GYO newbie Gardener

Ratings:
    +178
    Thanks for reading. If you can shed light, point me in the right direction or tell me straight, then please do. I am very new to GYO, but also a novice gardener.

Lawn.

I put lawn feed, weed killer, moss killer stuff on the front lawn about 10-14 days ago. Today I mowed and scarified. The lawn is mainly moss and is north facing but I felt I had ignored for too many springs. So questions: Can I sow grass seed at the same time as the moss killer/lawn feed stuff? I think the lawn would benefit from a second covering as the grass was a tad long when the first lot was sprinkled.

Weed control/pathways.

I am expanding faster than I planned. I have put two raised beds on my lawn. They are filled with compost but I am yet to sow. I now think that I should accommodate my walking across the grass and need to keep weeds/grass down around the beds. I was thinking I could put the weed control matting sheet stuff down. If I did should I put something on top? Pebbles or bark? My concerns are when I mow the lawn the grass will blow over.

Strawberries.

When do they become attractive to birds? Mine have little green berries on. Are birds only interested when they turn red?

Re using compost.