1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Hide a Horrible Fence!

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Brian Worthington, Mar 12, 2021.

1. Brian Worthington

Brian Worthington Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I'm no expert, but I'm thinking the cheapest and easiest way to hide the lower 4 feet (or more, up to say 8 feet) of this ugly fence at the side of a grassy area at the front of our house is to scatter a row of ornamental tall grass seeds. Which ones would do the job? How long would it be before the fence is obscured? Has anyone got any cheaper/easier solutions?

Attached Files:

2. Spruce

Spruce Glad to be back .....

Ratings:
    +12,320
    hi why dont you plant a honeysuckle / clematis / climbing hydrangea ////or if you want grass Pampas grass would be ideal but may make the neighbours gossip lol

• Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Brian Worthington

Ratings:
      +1
      It looks like those three suggestions would all need a trellis. Are there any other suitable tall ornmental grasses? (my wife won't entertain 'Pampas' :smile:)

• Funny Funny x 1
      • Selleri

Selleri Koala

Ratings:
        +7,635
        Hi @Brian Worthington , welcome to the forum!

Is the fence yours or can you grow a climber on it without upsetting the neighbours? How much light does it get and what's your budget? £0-£5, £5-?