I killed my lawn..help please!!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by SteveDub, May 5, 2011.

1. SteveDub

SteveDub Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am a complete newbie and with my first house/lawn I have made a very amateur mistake. I sprayed weed killer on what I thought was just the leaves of the weeds but it has destroyed massive patches of both my lawns, very embarrising :OUCH:

Grass has thinned out to a very yellow dead looking state and also left bare muddy patches.

What I need to know is can I throw some seeds on and keep watered and new grass will grow through over a few weeks?? OR will the weed killer still be in the soil?? Either way please help, I need this sorted ASAP as it is a rented house and we want to move in a few months time.

Thank you so much for reading,
    Steve :help:

2. Spruce

Spruce Glad to be back .....

Ratings:
    +12,318
    Hi
    Not all is lost get some lawn fertiliser only not a weed and feed if it doesnt rain after the next two days you will have to water the lawn , you will be amazed how quickly it will grow back I would not use seed as it may be killed off by the weedkiller you have already used as the new grass would be burn off by the chemicals

Hope this helps

Spruce

3. SteveDub

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

There is patches that have no grass at all now though, would fertiliser still work?? I used that Evergreen 4in1 and it hasn't done a thing for over 3 weeks now and i've watered it as well. Isn't this fertiliser??

Steve

4. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Steve, first off, what weedkiller did you use?

5. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +45,635
    We've got no chance of helping you if you don't tell us what weedkiller you used :what:

6. SteveDub

Ratings:
    +0