Ideal size and shape for a veggi bed.

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by BigBaddad, May 28, 2008.

1. BigBaddad

BigBaddad Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Lucky for me i'll have a good size kitchen garden once my house is built....south facing with a wall on the north side. about 16 ft deep and 50ft wide (not measured just guessed for now).

I'm a newbie. I was thinking of having several 4ft raised beds (I hear that these are good)with 2-3ft paving in between each. Is this a good idea and how high should I have the beds.

2. moyra

moyra A knackered Veteran Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +9,817
    I would say incredibly lucky for you. Ideal manageable beds with easy access. The world's your oyster. Should be fun setting them up. And there's me have to lay another 5 x 70cl compost bags down to give myself some more veg planting area. Lol. Just as well I am content with my lot.:) Wish I could be just as content with the weather!:(

3. Prastio

Prastio Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Probably stating the obvious....but in planning your raised beds and paving remember to get a slope so that the rain can run off or you might end up with canals between your planting areas! Also, Sods Law dictates that fallen leaves will form piles against your raised beds. However well you plan, you will end up with at least one "leaf trap area". If you have the time and patience, it could be worth first laying out your (empty) beds without mortaring your bricks so you can get an idea of what unforeseen consequences there might be from your design. Sounds as though you have the potential for a superb plot!

4. BigBaddad

BigBaddad Gardener

Ratings:
    +0