1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

In the words of Bowie, I'm an absolute beginner!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by stacyg, Aug 17, 2016.

1. stacyg

stacyg Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Evening folks - I'm hoping for some advice re. my new garden. I've moved into a new property recently which has a beautiful big garden which is in need of some serious TLC! To say the previous owners neglected the garden would be an understatement! It has huge potential and I love a challenge but I have literally zero knowledge of gardening. I'm looking for some help in identifying the variety of plants and weeds that live in the garden. I want to clear the place of the weeds whilst ensuring I don't damage any of the plants or flowers that may be lurking in beside them! I've taken a few pics which I attach below (inc. a couple of the whole garden to give you an indication of how overgrown it is!) and would be grateful if people could simply tell me what it is and whether it should stay or go! Massive thanks in advance and apologies if the photos are not great, just snapped them on an iPhone!

Attached Files:

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +52,599
    Welcome to Gardeners Corner stacyg. :) Starting with the plants on the left....

1. Ipomoea
    2. Crocosmia (Montbretia)
    3. ?
    4. ?
    5. Hydrangea
    6. Sorry, need a clearer, closer picture of stem and foliage.

On right.......